Exploring


Thank you for consider the Exploring program. We endeavor to provide hands-on career activities to help you or the young people you serve discover their future. If you have suggestions to help improve or expand Exploring in our area, then please feel free to share them by calling or e-mailing. You can also view more resources, training and the expansive Activity Library on our National Exploring web site: www.exploring.org 


ANDY PIERCE
Director, Exploring & Workforce Development

Illinois and Indiana, Pathway to Adventure Council

Phone: (630) 796-4221
Email: andy [dot] pierce @ LFLmail [dot] org

###


EXPLORING POSTS

Young men and women 14 to 20 years old (or 13 and have completed 8th grade)

Exploring is about helping young adults make more informed decisions about future careers and determine if a particular career is the right one for them.

Typically, a young adult will learn about a career and decide to pursue it or learn enough about the career to determine it is not the right fit for him or her. It’s better to learn as a young adult that a career is not for you than to spend lots of time and money on an education only to then discover you don’t like a career!

In the Exploring program, it’s not about lectures and slide shows; it’s about gaining practical insight and hands-on knowledge in a career field.

Exploring provides opportunities in 12 career fields. Try one or try them all!


EXPLORING CLUBS

Middle School Exploring Clubs for young men and women 6th thru 8th grades

Interest in the concept of career orientation has skyrocketed in recent years, due in large part to the focus of the U.S, Department of Education. Across the nation, schools are conducting research into the career interests of middle-school students.

Our National Exploring Office responded by creating innovative coeducational Middle School Explorer Club programs for students in the sixth, seventh and eighth grades.

The clubs offer an array of options. One popular choice features presentations by professionals from across several career fields, including Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). Another choice is to focus on one particular field such as Law Enforcement or Fire and Emergency Services. All programs include hands-on activities and are sponsored by schools, service clubs, chambers of commerce, or PTAs. In addition, local Exploring posts can help provide mentoring opportunities for the youth in the clubs.

Questions? Contact Mr. Andy Pierce via email at: andy.pierce@LFLmail.org

Exploring Posts in the Calumet Community - Munster, IN
Unit Career Field Community Organization Exploring Advisor Contact Email Zip Code Staff Responsible
1070 Fire & EMS Schererville Fire Department
Joseph Kruzan jkruzan@schererville.org
46375 Andy
Pierce

1125 Law
Enforcement

Monee Police Department

Anthony Lazzaroni ALazzaroni@VillageOfMonee.org  60449 Andy
Pierce
1200 Law
Enforcement

Calumet City Police Department

Christopher Siatta CSiatta@calumetcity.org

60409 Andy
Pierce
2197 Law
Enforcement

Munster Police Department

Gabe Isenblatter


gisenblatter@munster.org

46321 Andy
Pierce
2207 Law
Enforcement

Lake Suburban Police Explorers

Jacob Schoon jacob.schoon@griffith.in.gov

46391 Andy
Pierce
2400 Science & Technology (CASIS)

Calumet College of St. Joseph Sandra Rogers drrogers@ccsj.edu  46394 Andy
Pierce
2638 Law
Enforcement

Crestwood Police Department

Garry Winer gwiner@crestwood.illinois.gov 60445 Andy
Pierce
2664 Law
Enforcement

Oak Forest Police Department

Todd Arthur tarthur@oak-forest.org

60452 Andy
Pierce
2668 Law
Enforcement

Country Club Hills Police Department

Ronnell Harris champron@sbcglobal.net

60478 Andy
Pierce
2700 Fire & EMS Crete Fire Department

Jim Boehner jimboehner@gmail.com 60417 Andy
Pierce

2950 Law
Enforcement

Lansing Police Department

Peter Grutzius pgrutzius@villageoflansing.org

60438 Andy
Pierce
9333 Arts & Communications Creative Element Erica Dananay ericadananay@hotmail.com

46322 Andy
Pierce

9622 Science & Technology

YMCA Underwater Robotoics

Hunter McKee hmckee@crymca.org

46324 Andy
Pierce

9228 Skilled Trades Welding Works @ Oak Forest High School
Jay Wasilewski mill3rman3@gmail.com 60445 Andy
Pierce

Exploring Posts in the Chicago Area Community - Chicago, IL
Unit Career Field Community Organization Exploring Advisor Contact Email Zip Code Staff Responsible
1534 Science & Technolgy(Club)

St. Mark United Methodist

Otis Pope oepope@yahoo.com

60619 Andy
Pierce
1920 Law
Enforcement
Federal Bureau of Investigation Chicago Division

Sarah Henkelmann andy.pierce@LFLmail.org 60608 Andy
Pierce
2534 Science & Technolgy St. Mark United Methodist

Otis Pope oepope@yahoo.com

60619 Andy
Pierce

8522 Law
Enforcement (Club)

22nd District Chicago Police

Caressa Northcross caressa.northcross@chicagopolice.org

60643 Andy
Pierce
8525 Law
Enforcement (Club)

25th District Chicago Police

Michael Miedona michael.miedona@chicagopolice.org

60639 Andy
Pierce

9002 Learning for Life Chicago Housing Authority

Andy Delaney adelaney@thecha.org

60605 Andy
Pierce

9111 Health Roseland Community Hospital

Maria Chavez mchavez@roselandhospital.org

60628 Andy
Pierce

9134 Skilled Trades IBEW-NECA Technical Institute

Maurice King mking@in-techonline.org

60608 Andy
Pierce

9304 Law
Enforcement
4th District Kids and Kops Youth Program

Edward Ramirez

edward.ramirez@chicagopolice.org

60617 Andy
Pierce

9315 Law
Enforcement
15th District Chicago Police Department

Jorge Munoz jorge.munoz@chicagopolice.org

60644 Andy
Pierce
9502 Law & Government

Chicago Bar Assoc. Young Lawyers Section Brett Geschke BGeschke@salawus.com 60604 Andy
Pierce

9522 Law
Enforcement
22nd District Chicago Police

Caressa Northcross

caressa.northcross@chicagopolice.org

60643 Andy
Pierce
9525 Law
Enforcement
25th District Chicago Police

Michael Miedona michael.miedona@chicagopolice.org

60639 Andy
Pierce

9706 Law
Enforcement
US Customs & Border Protection Rebeca Rivera rebeca28@comcast.net

60607 Andy
Pierce

9906 Law
Enforcement

6th District Chicago Police Nicosia Mathews

nicosia.mathews@chicagopolice.org

60620 Andy
Pierce
9911 Law
Enforcement
11th District Chicago Police Darryl Martin darryl.martin@chicagopolice.org 60612

Andy
Pierce

9912 Law
Enforcement
12th District Chicago Police Lisa Barraco lisa.barraco@chicagopolice.org
60608 Andy
Pierce


Exploring Posts in the Des Plaines Valley Community - La Grange, IL
Unit Career Field Community Organization Exploring Advisor Contact Email Zip Code Staff Responsible
0017 Fire & EMS Western Springs Fire Department

Mario Perez mperez@wsprings.com

60558 Andy
Pierce

0020 Fire & EMS Broadview Fire Department

Pat McGivney csfd9105@yahoo.com

60155 Andy
Pierce

0049 Science & Technology Lemont United
Methodist Church

Colleen Leahey colleen@comsolutionsllc.com

60439 Andy
Pierce

0094 Law
Enforcement
Berwyn Police Department

Carmelita Terry cterry@ci.berwyn.il.us

60402 Andy
Pierce

0095 Law
Enforcement
Franklin Park Police Rich Adamski radamski@vofp.com

60131 Andy
Pierce

0100 Law
Enforcement
Maywood Police Department

Val Talley vtalley@maywoodpolice-il.org

60153 Andy
Pierce

0390 Law
Enforcement
Fraternal Order Of Police Lodge 39

Brian Greenenwald bgreenenwald@riverside.il.us

60546 Andy
Pierce

0449 Law
Enforcement
Lemont Police Department

Robert Keane rkeane@lemont.il.us

60439 Andy
Pierce

0500 Law
Enforcement
Village of Willowbrook Daniel Polfliet dpolflie@willowbrook.il.us

60527 Andy
Pierce

0740 Law
Enforcement

Western Springs Police Department

Arthur Hull ahull@wsprings.com

60558 Andy
Pierce

3249 Health MacNeal Hospital Natalia Avila navilia@macneal.com

60402 Andy
Pierce


Exploring Posts in the Northwest Suburban Community - Arlington Heights, IL
Unit Career Field Community Organization Exploring Advisor Contact Email Zip Code Staff Responsible
0002 Law
Enforcement
Village of Lake Zurich Police Department

Scott Pavlock Scott.Pavlock@LakeZurich.org 60047 Andy
Pierce
0009 Aviation Windy City Flyers, Inc Dougas Powers dougfpowers@sbcglobal.net

60090 Andy
Pierce

0028 Fire & EMS Niles Fire Department James Leibach Ph (847) 588-6800 60714 Andy
Pierce

0053 Law
Enforcement
Niles Police Department Peter Daoud pmd@vniles.com

60714 Andy
Pierce

0109 Law
Enforcement
Morton Grove Police Department Dennis Johnson djohnson@mortongroveeil.org

60053 Andy
Pierce

0130 Law
Enforcement
Barrington Police Department Emmanuel Rodriguez lprodrigueze@gmail.com

60010 Andy
Pierce

0142 Law
Enforcement
Des Plaines Police Department Mike Heidkamp mheidkamp@desplaines.org

60016 Andy
Pierce

0300 Law
Enforcement
Skokie Police Department Tammy Jacobsen tammy.jacobson@skokie.org

60077 Andy
Pierce

0333 Fire & EMS Schaumburg Fire Department Frederick Schlopp fscholpp@ci.schaumburg.il.us

60194 Andy
Pierce

0343 Fire & EMS Lake Zurich Fire Department Jeffrey Grant jeff.grant@lakezurich.org

60047 Andy
Pierce

0707 Law
Enforcement
US Customs & Border Protection Esmeralda Samaniego esmeralda.samaniego@dhs.gov

60018 Andy
Pierce

0806 Law
Enforcement
Hoffman Estates Police Lisa Notarnicola lisa.notarnicola@hoffmanestates.org

60169 Andy
Pierce

0915 Chemistry & Chemical Engineering UOP Randy Zea Randy.Zea@Honeywell.com

60017 Andy
Pierce

 



Training & Safety

Youth Protection Training


Awards & Recognitions
Scholarships

Current Hands-on Career Programs:


Arts & Humanities

Aviation

Business

Communications


Engineering and
Technology


Fire Service

Health

Law

Law Enforcement

Science

Skilled Trades

Social Services